top of page
Search

It’s ok to hate this!

Updated: Apr 9, 2020

So, incase you didn’t know there is a virus going round... and this quarantine SUCKS!


IT SUCKS GIANT BALLS


It’s week 2 of the lockdown (I think... the days are already so blurred) and I’ve been doing really well at keeping myself busy but I am quickly running out of things to do! Don’t get me wrong this time has allowed me to really get back into writing which is amazing and I’ve been proactive around the house doing loads of little chores and tasks that I’ve been putting off for a long time, although I do still need to deep clean my shower...


I’ve tried my best to stop watching the news and following Covid-19 in the media because its driving me crazy and everyone seems to have a different opinion. My main issue though is this Idea that not wanting to stay inside makes you a horrible and selfish person? Now hear me out. It is so so SO important that we stay inside and self isolate, we have to do it to protect each other, and I get that I really do and support it. But this does not mean I HAVE to enjoy it and suck it up without complaining. First of all, anyone that knows me knows that I LOVE complaining, it‘s one of my main skills as a basic bitch gay man living in the city. Secondly I feel it‘s only naturally for us want to run free. We are a generation who feeds of interaction whether it be social, romantic, sexual or whatever. We live in the age of having constant FOMO, a time where people physically crave human touch, attention and connection. So why are there so many online warriors judging us for being upset with being told to stay inside?


Thirdly... I still need to clean my shower


Back to my point, I see so many people on my social media feeds shaming people with stories of death and illness all because someone is not dealing with being locked up very well. I swear to Lucifer if I see one more person share the post below I will kill a bitch;


‘you millennials need to stop complaining about having to stay inside when your grandparents had to go to war’


YOU CAN’T COMPARE APPLES AND ORANGES! Its not the same thing! Our grandparents HAD to go fight for their lives. If Covid-19 was a person out their killing our loved ones do you really think we wouldn’t be out there fighting our asses off? I‘d be putting all my skills I learnt from Buffy to good use. The reason we are complaining is because sitting inside doing nothing means we feel useless, there is nothing we can do, when our loved ones are getting sick all we can do is watch, we feel helpless and its hopeless.


Stop making others feel guilty, stop using people’s deaths as a way to justify someone’s emotions right now. Stop making people feel like this is all their fault if they are struggling. If you see/hear/read that someone is angry or getting upset about being locked up rather than snapping at them or patronise them maybe try reaching out to them to see if they are ok? Stop making them feel guilty. We all deal with things differently, as long as you are staying inside and doing your part then you deal with this shit situation however you feel like it. You wanna complain? DO IT. You wanna cry? GRAB THOSE TISSUES. You wanna sit inside and do nothing all day? HUN WHAT YOU WATCHING? You wanna eat your feelings I HAVE A GREAT COOKIE RECIPE. You wanna cut yourself off from everyone? I WILL SEE YAH AFTER ALL THIS WHEN YOU ARE READY BOO. Everyone is struggling together and there is no right or wrong for how you deal with this.


Stay safe you sexy bitches and that doesn’t necessarily mean wear a condom, but this isn’t really the time to be getting an STI or even worse... pregnant xx


49 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page